Caught in the whirlwind…

It’s happened to all of us. We watch a youtube video or see a swatch of a product on Instagram and instantly we are CONSUMED. We need it. Whatever IT is. A highlighter. An eyeshadow palette. Lipstick. But, we have to think of our realities. Rent needs to be paid and groceries bought. So we try to push that Natasha Denona eyeshadow palette out of our minds.

However, sometimes. We lose. We lose the battle and run to Sephora’s website, put whatever our obsession is in our cart, checkout, and impatiently wait for those two business days to pass…because you know we got that Flash Shipping.

I am saying all of this, only to say that I lost. I was caught up in the whirlwind and bought Kevyn Aucoin’s Sensual Skin Enhancer. I was patiently obsessed. Meaning, I repeatedly checked Sephora’s site just to look at it but I didn’t buy it for months! I was proud of myself, but once I was overwhelmed by the desire there was no fighting it. One last chat with my friend Kristin did me in. She truly is the worst and best influence in terms of my makeup purchases.

On to the actual product review. The Sensual Skin Enhancer is definitely the most pigmented and heavy duty concealer I own. But it blends beautifully. I chose the color SX11 because I like a super highlighted look but I definitely could have gone up a shade. SX11 is a tad golden for my taste I prefer more of a neutral undertoned concealer. But that just gives me another reason to buy more makeup, right?!?! I dot the concealer on with my Morphe concealer brush. I use the E10 brush to place it, which has since been discontinued. A comparable one is an E10 brush from the Elite 2 collection.  I have used both my G2 brush from Morphe and a Beauty Blender to apply. I liked the brush best for the application. The BB seemed to just move the product around and not buff it into the skin. I did, however, use the BB to blend out the edges of the concealer after I blended it out with the brush. And I set it with Sacha Buttercup Powder.

IMG_1870
This is a thin layer of the concealer.
IMG_1872
This is that same concealer blended out.
IMG_1871
The Morphe E10.
IMG_1875
This is the tip of the G2 brush. Excuse the messy tip, I just used it today. We all know what a Beauty Blender looks like.

Leave a comment